Chrome Glow Fork Signals - Honda Fury Forums: Honda Chopper Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-02-2012, 11:02 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Kiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 728
Garage
Chrome Glow Fork Signals

*sigh* here we go again. Anyone wired these with the run/turn elements?

The output of the run/turn elements have a yellow 'turn' wire, and an orange 'running' wire.

The led strips have a yellow and a black (ground) wire.

I must've wired something wrong because I blew the bikes signal fuse.
Kiwi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-03-2012, 10:34 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Kiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 728
Garage
Can't wait to see what I manage to do when I stick the HID in... har.
Kiwi is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-03-2012, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: HOUSTON TEXAS
Posts: 574
Which ones did you order. What length. How do they look. Can you post a pic?
ALEYRAY is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-03-2012, 04:31 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Kiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 728
Garage
I ordered these LED Fork Light Turn Signal Kits - Chrome Glow

with the run/turn circuit.

I ordered the 46mm length and expect to need to possibly pad the zip tie out a little to accommodate the extra 1mm. I haven't permanently afixed them yet.

Haven't got to see them in action yet as I somehow managed to screw up something as simple as connecting two wires to... well... two wires. I blew a fuse. I just hope I haven't blown the leds as well.

I'm actually thinking I may do away with the run/turn circuit as the HID should look all kinds of awesome on its own.
Kiwi is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-03-2012, 07:58 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Kiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 728
Garage
Replaced the fuses. All good.

Leds are fine, however I can't get a turn signal out of the run/turn circuit. I can get a running light voltage, but no turn voltage.
Kiwi is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-03-2012, 09:48 PM
Senior Member
 
OBSIDIAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fargo, ND - Moorhead, MN
Posts: 759
I tried 2 different sets of these and ended up scrapping them. PITA.

You need a resistor element to have run/turn signals. The yellow and orange wire hook up to the resistor and then the other side hooks up to the yellow of the strip. The resistor allows half voltage while running and then full voltage when the turn signal is on.

86 Intruder; 79 XS650; 11 Fury #776 Freedom is life behind bars.
Only a biker knows why a dog sticks his head out of a car window

OBSIDIAN is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-04-2012, 01:24 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Kiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 728
Garage
Yeah. I scrapped the run/turn circuit. Now im on to the 6k dual hid. Had to extend all the wires under the tank and back to the side cover by the battery. All works so far.
Kiwi is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-04-2012, 12:10 PM
Senior Member
 
black_angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Russellville, AR
Posts: 162
I'll have a nice circuit before too much longer.. a lot going on at work lately.. unfortunately I can't just quit and make electronic circuits for a living.
Check out my thread on run turn brake. Any input would be appreciated!

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Motorcycle.com Free App
black_angel is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-04-2012, 07:26 PM
Senior Member
 
groovedaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 355
I bought those same turns and had the same issues with the circuit not working - i was directed to the Bareassed Choppers site for a great simple solution

Good luck!

PEARL WHITE #000009
groovedaddy is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-04-2012, 08:36 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Kiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 728
Garage
its all good. i decided it looked better without running lights. running lights aren't going to make me any more visible than 6k hid i just put in.
Kiwi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Fury Forums: Honda Chopper Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome