Lowering rear end....help - Honda Fury Forums: Honda Chopper Forum

» Insurance
» Honda Fury Prices
» Sponsors

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2012, 10:33 AM   #1 (permalink)

Send a message via Yahoo to Tim5779
Default Lowering rear end....help

This may or may not be a stupid question, but does anyone know the spring rate of the rear spring? I know low and mean sells a rear lowering spring for roughly $190, but my thought was...can't I just buy a common die spring that is 1.5" shorter than stock, with roughly the same spring rate??? I'm an engineer by trade so this is the sort of thing I try to avoid, paying way too much for something I can make. I can buy a die spring for roughly $25...sounds like a no brainer to me, unless I'm missing something???
Tim5779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-20-2012, 11:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned

i took one of my stock springs and had a local machine shop take .125 off each end and it gave me 1.5 inches in back. keep in mind that the lenght doesnt change that much because you are at a pinion angle so lenght of swing arm plays into effect on mono shock application.
abonet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 01:03 PM   #3 (permalink)

wow, so taking .25" off gave you the 1.50" in the back? that's a heck of a ratio. do you have any problem with bottoming out or anything like that? i had thought of just modifying the stock spring as you did but was worried because that would definitely decrease the spring rate a little. Maybe that just makes for an easier ride?
Old 08-20-2012, 03:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned

i have not seen any change with over 4000 miles on it. remember 17th of an inch equals 1 degree. so across 15 inches of swing arm that = 1.470 drop.
Old 08-20-2012, 05:07 PM   #5 (permalink)

NICE...thanks alot abonet! That calc looks right to me, I'm definitely going to try this. I'll keep you posted.
Old 08-20-2012, 06:35 PM   #6 (permalink)