Speedometer not functioning - Honda Fury Forums: Honda Chopper Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 47 (permalink) Old 02-28-2012, 01:00 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: missouri
Posts: 81
Speedometer not functioning

Short version.

Battery died bought a new one. Everything started and functioned with new battery. Needle swept to full and back. Took bike out for a quick ride and now the speedometer registers no speed. Checked Fuses all were fine. Power Commander V is powered up and appears to be working fine.

Any suggestions for what possibly could have gone wrong that i can check myself before taking to the dealership and spending an inordinate amount of money to fix this.

I read every speedometer post i could find and did not find anything similar to my dilemma.
scoutmonster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 47 (permalink) Old 02-28-2012, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Troopjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 3,232
Did you replace the speedometer face at any point ? If so you may want to check to see if the needle seated all the way down or may have vibrated loose.

"It is better to live one day as a lion than a hundred years as a sheep."
Troopjones is offline  
post #3 of 47 (permalink) Old 02-28-2012, 02:33 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: missouri
Posts: 81
Speedometer face never removed have not even looked into how to remove it and needle swings freely when ignition is turned on.
scoutmonster is offline  
post #4 of 47 (permalink) Old 03-02-2012, 12:46 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: missouri
Posts: 81
Thank you very much for the post but... I pulled the tank off and started looking for the connector but I am not finding it. Lot of red wires found under tank but no green. So do i need to cut into the loom to find it? Sorry but not that familiar with bikes is it not under the tank on the fury? If not any chance someone knows where the connector is on the fury.
scoutmonster is offline  
post #5 of 47 (permalink) Old 03-02-2012, 12:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Seņor Gar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: West End of the 49th 2010-ABS-Fury (US) Septuagenarian Rider
Posts: 2,586
Send a message via Skype™ to Seņor Gar
Unfortunately the previous diagram is not for the Fury .
Here is the correct one if it is of any help ...

The connector is a 20 pin (gray) at the base of the instrument cluster (speedo).

Odds are the problem is related to replacement of the battery so an R&R is in order to see if anything appears disturbed. The speed sensor is to the right of the transmission output in front of the swing arm pivot. It's 3P black connector is above and to the right and not easily accessible with the rear fender and wheel in place. If you are serious about saving money you need your own shop manual, not mine

Last edited by Seņor Gar; 03-02-2012 at 01:14 AM.
Seņor Gar is offline  
post #6 of 47 (permalink) Old 03-02-2012, 10:01 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: missouri
Posts: 81
Had to look for what R&R meant in your post LOL.

R&R - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Remove and replace. Motorcycle/Auto mechanic terminology. A work order may read.....Main fuse blowing. Diagnose and repair electrical system short circuit, R&R battery and main fuse, check charging.

I love learning new things.
scoutmonster is offline  
post #7 of 47 (permalink) Old 03-07-2012, 05:47 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: missouri
Posts: 81
OH well took the bike in since i could not find the issue.

They called today and said the speed sensor is bad.

Said they are ordering a new one to check.

BUT if it is the speed sensor they have to take then entire motor out to replace then sensor.

Holy Cr@p glad I took it in I would not be prepared or comfortable doing something like that.
scoutmonster is offline  
post #8 of 47 (permalink) Old 03-07-2012, 05:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Toadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 724
WHOA! Take the motor out? It must be an internal sensor?
Toadster is offline  
post #9 of 47 (permalink) Old 03-07-2012, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Seņor Gar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: West End of the 49th 2010-ABS-Fury (US) Septuagenarian Rider
Posts: 2,586
Send a message via Skype™ to Seņor Gar

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	1346
Size:	91.8 KB
ID:	12602   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture 2.jpg
Views:	1384
Size:	66.8 KB
ID:	12603  
Seņor Gar is offline  
post #10 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-22-2012, 12:35 AM
Member
 
FuriousWrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 54
Hey I hate to hash up old stuff, but I'm having the exact same problem. Dead battery R&R bike runs great but no speedo. Took it in and they said remove the engine and all. Shop is estimating $600ish for this, which blows my mind. I'm wondering if this is in the ball park of what you were charged. Please any insight would be helpful.

Also my bike is a '10 model but only has 300 miles on it. (I know what your thinking but new born baby's don't allow much riding) So it's out of warranty but I still feel like this is a defect/issue. Should I piss and moan to get Honda to cover some cost?


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com App

#502 Matte Silver, Cobra Sweeps, Cobra power controller, MFR Taillight
Located In Pirate Country.
FuriousWrath is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Fury Forums: Honda Chopper Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome