Did it: Bought V&H Slip Ons - 1 More Question! - Honda Fury Forums: Honda Chopper Forum

» Insurance
» Honda Fury Prices
» Sponsors

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2012, 07:46 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Did it: Bought V&H Slip Ons - 1 More Question!

So, based on my other threads and info I got from you guys I went with the V&H Slip Ons in the end. They arrived yesterday and I am going to install them on Sunday.

One question, and hopefully the last from me for a while, is if I should take the baffles out right away or leave them in.

What are the risks involved - I've read around the forum and there doesn't seem to be a definitive answer regarding baffles.

Is it significantly louder without them?

Just looking for advice - I'm totally new to the aftermarket world!
McDodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-23-2012, 07:56 AM   #2 (permalink)

I'd say take them out now as long as it's the sound you want. Don't listen to any "You need back pressure" foolishness. This is not a 2 stroke motor. The 4 stroke motor needs to breathe.
Exredninjaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 11:37 AM   #3 (permalink)

Hi McDodge,
Congrats on the V&H slipons,
You may experience popping or backfire on decelerating, if you do, read here.
VTX-Parts 1300 & 1800 Honda VTX Custom Motorcycle Parts, Pair Valve Covers, Radiator Grill Covers, Exhaust System Covers, Reed Valve Covers, Polished Stainless Steel, Polished Aluminum, Chrome
You will need the plates with the dimples.
Leo will sort you out.
All the best mate.
Old 11-23-2012, 11:40 AM   #4 (permalink)

I have the 3" cobra slips, and I just finished my experiment with baffles in and out. After taking them out and riding a little, my opinion is that they are now louder, obnoxious, and I need to put my baffles back in. They also have that tinny sound I do not like after taking the baffles out.
Also, I am with Exred about the back pressure issue.