Honda Fury Forums: banner

2010 starter issues

15K views 76 replies 22 participants last post by  460brevill 
#1 ·
there are a few threads on here devoted to fury starter issues. I've been screwing with my 2010 for several years over a starter that drags when hot. thanks to this forum I'm sure the starter is crap and Honda knows it. the only reason this part wasn't recalled is it is not a safety issue. we need a grass roots effort to get this recalled please help me light a fire under Honda's butt.

#2 ·
I had a recall notice sent to me for the starter about a month ago and had it replaced at no cost, contact honda and check to see if yours was under the recent recall.

#49 ·
Hi Jarred,

Can I get more info from you about this recall? My dealer said there have been no recalls at all regarding the starter motor. I'm having issues with the hot starting and Honda can't help! They said to replace the starter (at my cost). The forum is suggesting replace the starter, the battery (EarthX) or the starter relay. The starter is just on $600, the EarthX battery is $714 and no idea what the starter relay is worth. If you have a recall notice that may help me.

Cheers

Gary

#5 · (Edited)
$300 labor for a 30 min job.... LMAO

It's really not bad to change it out if you have basic mechanical skills and tools.

I honestly believe the issue is the battery they stick in is just barely adequate when new and gets worse with age. I replaced my battery with one with more cranking amps (a lot more cranking amps... Lol... An EarthX) and have had ZERO issues since, even on the hottest Florida days.

#4 ·
I've been dicking with this starting issue for quite a few years. I don't know if it's the starter, but since I bought a new battery at the beginning of the riding season, I have had zero hot start problems. I replaced the battery with the same type of Yuasa that came with the bike.

#6 · (Edited)
There is a trend appearing here :rolleyes: