Power PRO users must try this!! - Page 3 - Honda Fury Forums: Honda Chopper Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-06-2012, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Steveo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: S.E. Kansas
Posts: 7,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by 460brevill View Post
it needs the idle for 15 minuts with no throttle goose at all.
What if it dies during that 15 minutes? Do you have to start all over?

http://www.furyforums.com/forum/members/116x150x1398-steveo-albums387-crap-picture46321t-untitled.png.pagespeed.ic.7USV2JNVIZ.jpg
Steveo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-06-2012, 03:44 PM
Senior Member
 
woodenhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Collins, MS
Posts: 5,704
How often should it be reset? As a general rule of thumb?
woodenhorse is offline  
post #23 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-06-2012, 04:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Steveo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: S.E. Kansas
Posts: 7,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodenhorse View Post
How often should it be reset? As a general rule of thumb?
I know you're asking 460, but I don't see why it needs to be reset unless you change something on your bike that affects performance, or if you change the battery.

http://www.furyforums.com/forum/members/116x150x1398-steveo-albums387-crap-picture46321t-untitled.png.pagespeed.ic.7USV2JNVIZ.jpg
Steveo is offline  
post #24 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-06-2012, 04:04 PM
Senior Member
 
woodenhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Collins, MS
Posts: 5,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveo View Post
I know you're asking 460, but I don't see why it needs to be reset unless you change something on your bike that affects performance, or if you change the battery.
I'm thinking if you change your type of riding or want to refresh it cause you push it hard (like I do) that it might be beneficial to do it..........couple of times a year maybe? I guess I'll have more insight once I try it and see if there is any more torque. I'm like you in that I like to take off fast......but I keep going fast.
woodenhorse is offline  
post #25 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-06-2012, 05:23 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 71
I dont want to sound like a naysayer but the only thing you are resetting is the stock ecm, and no where in the service information is there anything regarding reset of the ECM, if you are using a power pro it is reset every time you tune the key off.
PAFURY
PAFURY is offline  
post #26 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-06-2012, 06:13 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by 460brevill View Post
i thought the same thing till a honda tech proved it works.it helps smooth the take off and the tourqe feels better.
so it is a reset for the ecm? you dont have to have a fuel controller?
Regards,
PAFURY
PAFURY is offline  
post #27 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-06-2012, 10:18 PM
Senior Member
 
ikya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: westminster,ca.
Posts: 142
When I installed mine, I did as the directions said and let it idle for 15 minutes and it worked great from then on. I read this post and decided to give it a try, couldn't hurt right? Well, my results are that after following these directions to the tee and restarting my bike, I have not noticed any difference than before. These are just my findings, your results may be different. Thank for the post, for me it was no harm no foul. Just wanted to post my results.

2010 Black and Chrome and Chrome and Chrome........ What else?
ikya is offline  
post #28 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-06-2012, 11:35 PM
Senior Member
 
finally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 791
Send a message via AIM to finally
when I installed mine and no were did it say let idle for 15 minutes just said ride

Mods: Cannella risers, FI2000PowrPro , Cobra Swept Exhaust,Cobra’s PowrFlo, Chrome Dipstick, Chrome Claw Mirrors, Tool pouch, LEDGlow ,Accutronix Chrome LED License plate light, Kuryakyn Handlebar Control Covers, Brake Master Cylinder Cover, Flamin' Switchblade Pegs
finally is offline  
post #29 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-07-2012, 01:53 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
joefury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pompano Beach
Posts: 790
Quote:
Originally Posted by finally View Post
when I installed mine and no were did it say let idle for 15 minutes just said ride
my instructions did not mention this 15min let idle procedure. Possibly it changed since there were some problems in the start?

in fact when i called tech support they also did not mention this 15 minute idle procedure, what they recommended was to "run the bike through its gears 3 times all out"

if you check the old threads someone found out they had bad cable harnesses shipped with the units once they changed the harness it worked fine.

but this procedure added some torque its not like adding a turbo but there is a difference and it cost ZERO(cant say that for many MODS).

No rest for the WICKED
joefury is online now  
post #30 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-07-2012, 02:46 PM
Senior Member
 
finally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 791
Send a message via AIM to finally
Since I installed the new FC the storm Sandy hit us and there is no gas. I am lucky to have friends that own a marina with gas but it is 97 fuel I hope the FC is not learning the bike with hi test in it. Now we getting hit with this nor easter who knows when I will be able to put reg fuel in.

Mods: Cannella risers, FI2000PowrPro , Cobra Swept Exhaust,Cobra’s PowrFlo, Chrome Dipstick, Chrome Claw Mirrors, Tool pouch, LEDGlow ,Accutronix Chrome LED License plate light, Kuryakyn Handlebar Control Covers, Brake Master Cylinder Cover, Flamin' Switchblade Pegs

Last edited by finally; 11-07-2012 at 02:53 PM.
finally is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Fury Forums: Honda Chopper Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome