Fuel Gauge options? - Page 3 - Honda Fury Forums: Honda Chopper Forum
 19Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-10-2019, 12:14 AM
Septuagenarian Rider
 
Señor Gar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: West End of the 49th Parallel on a US 2010 CBS/ABS Fury
Posts: 4,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by decarmine View Post
So then I'll refill my tank, reset the odometer, and see what happens around 120 miles...
Some folks get the light at 100 miles, depends how hard you ride.
boatwire likes this.
Señor Gar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-10-2019, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
BakoFury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2,332
Garage
Send a message via Yahoo to BakoFury
Any kind of fuse involved, Senor Gar? Maybe just a broken wire?

Insert clever phrase here that will garner respect and love.

Fury Nation Map
BakoFury is online now  
post #23 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-10-2019, 11:21 AM
Septuagenarian Rider
 
Señor Gar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: West End of the 49th Parallel on a US 2010 CBS/ABS Fury
Posts: 4,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by BakoFury View Post
Any kind of fuse involved, Senor Gar? Maybe just a broken wire?
Remove the two sensor wires and connect with a jumper to see if the low fuel level light circuit is working properly

Last edited by Señor Gar; 04-11-2019 at 03:40 PM.
Señor Gar is offline  
 
post #24 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-11-2019, 02:45 PM
Member
 
SuperDutyTrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 35
Garage
There is a product called a "FuelGaugePro" available on eBay for about $159 (electronic bar version) or $179 (analog version). Or you can order it directly from the manufacturer, LSK Motorcycle Electronics, www.lskelectronics.com which is based in the Czech Republic.

This device says it "measures the hydrostatic pressure and computes the level of the fuel in the tank, or the actual amount of fuel – according to the mode you select. That enables even those with a motorcycle with no float in the fuel tank to have fuel gauge". It has a sending unit that mounts in-line with the fuel line to the pump, presumably under the tank.

I think someone should get one of these and let us know how/if it works!
Señor Gar likes this.
SuperDutyTrooper is online now  
post #25 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-11-2019, 05:36 PM
Senior Member
 
460brevill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Farmville Va.
Posts: 13,286
Garage
Pull the tank off, Cut the wires. Now put the tank back on. Go for a ride. When you get to 100 miles start keeping your eyes open for a fuel station. Problem solved.
Rope and BakoFury like this.


Salty Hog was here on his Springer Fury and still here.
460brevill is offline  
post #26 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
WI_Hedgehog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 2,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by 460brevill View Post
Pull the tank off, Cut the wires. Now put the tank back on. Go for a ride. When you get to 100 miles start keeping your eyes open for a fuel station. Problem solved.
There's a plug on the bottom, just pull on them a bit and the warning light will go on. LOL

Maybe look at the 50 MPG thread. I've gotten something like 175 miles/tank.

Those delicate gauges don't usually last long, maybe to a Google search and see what others say.

-Sir Ironass
(Fury Nation map)(msg BakoFury your zipcode for add)
(Ginz Choppers - excellent service & prices)
WI_Hedgehog is online now  
post #27 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 11:42 PM
JCB
Senior Member
 
JCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 194
I'm tempted to do this...

BUT... a Fury tank is just too dang PRETTY!

I barely made it off the interstate and coasted up to a pump one time. So... I got one of these.

Fits into my sissybar bag for the long trips.
.
waynejitsu likes this.


"I'm never lost... I'm just somewhere I haven't been before."
JCB is offline  
post #28 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 10:38 AM
Senior Member
 
WI_Hedgehog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 2,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAW View Post
Does anyone out there make a fuel gauge in a gas cap that'll fit the fury? I know many complanies make them for HD, but can't find any for us. (Motorcycle Gas Cap & Gauges | J&P Cycles)
As @X_KIOWA_X mentioned, there are no direct-fit aftermarket fuel cap options that we know of.

Because of the shape and angle of the tank a float will not work. The Fury uses a thermistor for the Fuel Reserve Sensor as @Ordinary Biker mentioned.




Quote:
Originally Posted by decarmine View Post
So... here's a question: I recently had my tank off to be painted. Tank was completely dry when I put it back on the bike. To test the "low fuel" light, I first put in maybe less than a quart of gas, turned on ignition, and started bike. Light did *not* come on. I subsequently filled the tank and have not driven enough to run low on fuel, but I'm not sure I now trust the light.

When I first bought the bike (used) there was little fuel in tank and light *did* come on, so I know the light worked at that time. I reconnected the wires when installing the tank, but paid no attention to which wire went on which lug. I just assumed it was an *on-off" switch.

So does the switch have to cycle through a "cool/warm" sequence?
Do I need to reverse the wires on the switch?
Has the switch somehow failed during the time (two months) it was off the bike and out of the tank?
The thermistor works immediately, there's no reset sequence to go through. The wires work either way, the thermal resistor does not have a polarity.

These threads address your issues:
No reserve light? Also, weird noise question

50 MPG !!!!
(Around page 5 there are actual fuel mileage calculations)

Regarding proper operation of the Reserve Indicator, please see the Service Manual, pages 22-17 & 22-18 (attached).

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fuel_reserve_sensor.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	25.0 KB
ID:	220144   Click image for larger version

Name:	22-17-Fuel.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	18.0 KB
ID:	220146   Click image for larger version

Name:	22-18-Fuel.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	15.7 KB
ID:	220148  
BakoFury and decarmine like this.

-Sir Ironass
(Fury Nation map)(msg BakoFury your zipcode for add)
(Ginz Choppers - excellent service & prices)

Last edited by WI_Hedgehog; 04-15-2019 at 03:41 PM.
WI_Hedgehog is online now  
post #29 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 02:51 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Lecanto, FL (just north of Tampa)
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by WI_Hedgehog View Post
The Fury uses a thermistor for the Fuel Reserve Sensor <snip>

The thermistor works immediately, there's no reset sequence to go through. The wires work either way, the thermal resistor does not have a polarity.
Thanks. You've answered all my questions...

Frank
WI_Hedgehog likes this.
decarmine is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
gas , tank

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Fury Forums: Honda Chopper Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome