Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got a 2010 Fury.
Mods include:

1) Gladiator spike air intake
2) FSD murdered out exhaust.
3) Cobra FI 2000 power pro Tuner

I love the sound of my bike and i love the looks. I am getting a loud backfire/pop when i decelerate and its pretty darn loud. I actually enjoy the sound of it HOWEVER i was told it is not good that it is running to "Lean" and could eventually do damage??? I am no expert so i resort to all of you for any answers or suggestions at all. I would appreciate any feedback on this.

·
Premium Member
1,146 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have the Auto tune Cobra. just plug and play no presets. Thought about getting a different one that can be tuned manually...

·
Premium Member
1,659 Posts
I have a similar setup. Do the pair valves. It's cheap and easy to do. I still get an occasional pop on hard decal at high RPM's, but not during normal riding.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thanks for the advice guys! ]

Also the paint is starting to crack and chip off my FSD pipes towards the end where it bends. I didnt know if this is common due to the way the pipe bends or if my bike is running to hot???

·
Registered
4 Posts
If your engine is actually backfiring (loud detonating) when decelerating, you are probably running too lean i.e., a slow burning mixture of too much air relative to the fuel volume injected. This can cause your engine to run too hot and do damage to the piston tops over time. An adjustment for a bit richer mixture with your Cobra FI Pro Tuner should be able to solve that situation. Better to run a little rich overall than too lean.

You may need to run higher octane fuel as well e.g., 93 octane Shell or ExxonMobil. Regular 87 octane gas ignites slower than such high-test fuels and burns dirtier with much less detergent cleaning additives.