Honda Fury Forums: banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Super Moderator
4,476 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This baffle mod is a quick and easy no cost solution that might come in handy for those of you who are running baffles in your cobra swept pipe and looking for a little added sound. It might also be a nice option for those of you who have removed your baffles and might like to have an option of a quick in and out of the baffles come inspection time. It might also help those who have removed your baffles and find your pipes to loud yet not loud enough with the baffles in.

I started playing around with the stock baffles looking for a new sound while still creating some engine back pressure to help out with the performance of the engine and this is what I came up with.

The first photo below shows the stock baffle and the second photo shows the new modified baffle. I made the modified baffle by using the front section of the Cobra stock baffle. I cut off and used the first 4 inches of the stock baffles. I then drilled a 3/8" center hole in the end of the baffle for some added sound and to also help out with install. I tapped out the center hole with some threads to accommodate a piece of 3/8 threaded rod that I screwed into the baffle used for the alignment help on the install.

Any one who has removed the Cobra baffles knows what a pain in the ass it is to get them out and pretty near impossible to get them back in alignment on the install. For this problem I sanded down the outside diameter of the baffle so they would slide in and out very easy. The use of the threaded rod screwed into the center baffle hole now makes it very easy to slide the baffle into alignment with the bolt hole to tighten the baffle into place. Once tighten into place simply unscrewed and removed the threaded rod used for install alignment.